Skip to main content

Author Visits

R.J. Lee: Grand Slam Murders

Wednesday, August 28, 2019

11:00AM - 12:00PM
Islands Library

In R. J. Lee’s cozy mystery debut Grand Slam Murders, first in A Bridge to Death Mystery series, members of an exclusive Mississippi bridge club are being killed off one by one, and it’s up to newspaper reporter Wendy Winchester to find out the truth.

With its southern setting and cast of zany characters, Grand Slam Murders will appeal to fans of Leslie Meier, Lee Hollis, Barbara Ross, and fans of quirky cozies. Lee follows in the mystery-writing footsteps of his father and is a born and raised southerner, currently living in Oxford, Mississippi.  You may remember him from the Cherry Cola Book Club series, writing as Ashton Lee.  This program is presented in partnership with E. Shaver, Bookseller.

"I Was Born to Be in a Library”: Pat Conroy’s Great Love of Libraries
Presented by Jonathan Haupt

Tuesday, September 10, 2019

5:30PM - 6:30PM
Bull Street Library

    Seating is limited. Registration is encouraged. Click on the program title to register or call 912.652.3600.

   “A library could show you everything if you knew where to look.”
     - Pat Conroy, My Reading Life

The author of The Prince of Tides, The Great Santini, and The Water Is Wide, Pat Conroy (1945 - 2016) is synonymous with the lowcountry. Executive Director of the Pat Conroy Literary Center, Jonathan Haupt, will discuss Conroy as reader - focusing on the importance of his mother Peggy Conroy in fostering Pat’s love of reading and of libraries in continuing that great love over the course of a lifetime.

Through video clips, photographs, and published and unpublished writings by and about Conroy, this presentation welcomes attendees into the book-filled world of one of America’s most beloved writers. The program will also include an overview of the nonprofit Pat Conroy Literary Center and the annual Pat Conroy Literary Festival, October 29 - November 3, 2019.